Faculty: Department of African American Studies

Faculty Info: 

Eddie S. Glaude Jr.

Acting Chair

Imani Perry (fall/spring)

Departmental Representative

Naomi Murakawa

Director of Graduate Studies

Joshua B. Guild


Wallace D. Best, also Religion

Eddie S. Glaude Jr., also Religion

Tera W. Hunter, also History

Imani Perry

Stacey Sinclair, also Psychology

Associate Professor

Wendy L. Belcher, also Comparative Literature

Ruha Benjamin

Joshua B. Guild, also History

Naomi Murakawa

Chika Okeke-Agulu, also Art and Archaeology

Assistant Professor

Anna Arabindan-Kesson, also Art and Archaeology

Reena N. Goldthree

Kinohi Nishikawa, also English

Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor

Autumn M. Womack, also English


Nijah N. Cunningham, also Council of the Humanities, English

Associated Faculty

Bruno M. Carvalho, Spanish and Portuguese

Jacob S. Dlamini, History

Paul Frymer, Politics

Simon E. Gikandi, English

William A. Gleason, English

J. Nicole Shelton, Psychology

Dara Z. Strolovitch, Program in Gender and Sexuality Studies

Keith A. Wailoo, History

Leonard Wantchekon, Politics, Woodrow Wilson School

Judith L. Weisenfeld, Religion