Council of the Humanities


  • Chair

    • Eric S. Gregory
  • Executive Committee

    • Leonard Barkan
    • William Gleason
    • Barbara Graziosi
    • Eric S. Gregory
    • Emmanuel Kreike
    • Federico Marcon
    • Benjamin C. Morison
    • Marina Rustow
  • Professor

    • Alexander Nehamas
  • Assistant Professor

    • Bryon T. Ahn
    • Laura Kalin
    • Florian A.J. Lionnet
  • Lecturer with Rank of Professor

    • Christiane D. Fellbaum
  • Lecturer

    • Noah A. D. Buchholz
    • Vera Gor
    • Samuel C. Zukoff
  • Long-Term Visiting Fellow

    • Sara L. Ahbel-Rappe
    • Rachel Barney
    • Stephen M. Best
    • Francois-Xavier Fauvelle
    • Sergey Konaev
    • Verena Maria Franziska Lepper
    • Oleg A. Proskurin
    • Elizabeth A. Wilson




  • Visiting Professor

    • Donka F. Farkas
  • Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts

    • Tiffany C. Cain
    • Guangchen Chen
    • Joshua L. Freeman
    • Janet E. Kay
    • Matthew D. Larsen
    • Benedito L. Machava
    • Bernadette J. Perez
    • Alice Pisani
    • Natalie V. Prizel
    • Melissa B. Reynolds
    • Ava Shirazi
    • Maria J. Velasco
    • Joanna W. Wuest
  • For a full list of faculty members and fellows please visit the Council of the Humanities website.

Program Information

The Council of the Humanities was established in 1953 by the trustees and faculty of the University for the purpose of fostering significant teaching and research in the humanities. In all of its endeavors the council aims to encourage collaboration among departments, both within the humanities and across the University; to foster interdisciplinary teaching and scholarship; to focus attention on the core concerns of humanistic scholarship; and to forge enduring links between the humanities at Princeton and the wider culture.

Membership in the Council of the Humanities is open to chairs and directors of all humanities departments, programs, and committees; the dean of the School of Architecture; the dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science; the chair of the Lewis Center for the Arts; and one representative each from the natural and social sciences. This group meets periodically to discuss matters affecting the humanities at Princeton and to advise the chair, the deans, and the president on policy issues.

The ongoing programs of the council are overseen by an executive committee consisting of members of the faculty appointed by the dean of the faculty and representing a broad spectrum of the council's activities. These activities include a program of visiting fellows--distinguished scholars from around the world who spend a period of time in residence in Princeton participating in the life of the University; the Old Dominion Professors, a small group of faculty members in the humanities and the humanistic social sciences who devote a year to intensive research and discussion; the Behrman Professors who dedicate three years to teaching in the Humanistic Studies Program; the Old Dominion Faculty Fellows, members of the faculty from all four divisions who come together for monthly seminars; and the Behrman Fellows, associate professors who meet regularly for discussion.

The council serves as a forum for a number of interdepartmental programs and committees, including American Studies, the Program in the Ancient World, Canadian Studies, Classical Philosophy, Digital Humanities, the East Asian Studies Program, European Cultural Studies, Film Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Hellenic Studies, Humanistic Studies, the Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program in the Humanities (IHUM)Irish Studies, Italian Studies, Journalism, Judaic Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Media and ModernityMedieval Studies, Near Eastern StudiesPolitical Philosophy, Renaissance and Early Modern Studies, the Study of Late Antiquity, and The University Center for Human Values. The Council of the Humanities is also home to the Princeton Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts, in which postdoctoral fellows spend three years on campus, teaching and pursuing research.

The council hosts and sponsors a range of public lectures, including the annual Humanities Colloquium, the Gauss Seminars in Criticism, the Belknap Visitors in the Humanities, the Eberhard L. Faber IV Lectures, the Stewart Seminars in Religion, and a series of faculty seminars taught by visiting fellows and other scholars. The council’s Global Initiatives are multi-year, cross-disciplinary research and teaching collaborations developed in a global context. The Edmund N. Carpenter II Class of 1943 Chair in the Humanities brings a senior scholar to Princeton on a permanent shared appointment between a department and the council.

The Council of the Humanities oversees the Ferris Professorship in Journalism, the Harold W. McGraw Jr. Seminar in Writing and Publishing, and the Robbins Seminar in Writing, under whose auspices distinguished journalists and nonfiction writers teach undergraduate seminars each year. The council also sponsors interdisciplinary courses under the aegis of the Program in Humanistic Studies. 

The council also sponsors interdisciplinary courses under the aegis of the Program in Humanistic Studies and oversees the following committees:

Committee for Film Studies

The Committee for Film Studies encourages the interdisciplinary study of film and video. The committee coordinates courses in the programs and departments that use film or video extensively; it also coordinates, so far as is appropriate, the acquisition of videotapes and films; and it organizes the visits of filmmakers and film scholars. Interested students are invited to consult members of the committee, who will provide additional information about film and video studies within the University. A list of film-related courses at Princeton is available on the committee's website.

Committee for the Fund for Canadian Studies

Established through the generous support of Princeton's Canadian alumni and the government of Canada to encourage and support expanded teaching and research on Canada at Princeton University, the Fund for Canadian Studies is administered by an advisory committee of interested faculty members under the auspices of the Council of the Humanities. The fund serves as a resource for Canada-focused academic activities, such as the development of new courses (including those of an interdisciplinary and comparative nature), individual research projects, conferences, guest lecturers, and speaker and seminar series.

Committee for the Fund for Irish Studies

The Fund for Irish Studies affords all Princeton students, and the community at large, a wider and deeper sense of the languages, literatures, drama, visual arts, music, history, politics, and economics not only of Ireland but of "Ireland in the world." The mission is twofold: to rationalize and expand existing courses taught by current members of the faculty, and to offer a series of public lectures, literary readings, conferences, exhibitions, screenings, concerts, and theatrical performances.