Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics


The Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics was established with a mandate to develop novel approaches to the study of biology in a post-genome-sequence era. The institute comprises a multidisciplinary group of scientists and students working at the interface of biology and the more quantitative sciences and computation. This is meant to include, among others, the fields of genomics, biophysics, computational neurobiology, systems biology, population biology and quantitative genetics, molecular evolution, computational biology, and microbial interactions. Unlike other genomics institutes, the Lewis-Sigler Institute does not focus on generating large amounts of sequence data. Rather, the focus is to extract from these enormous amounts of data an understanding of how biological systems organize and integrate complex processes.

Program Offerings

The institute consists of 15 to 20 research groups. All tenured and tenure-track faculty in the institute have appointments in one of the University's departments; among them are molecular biology, ecology and evolutionary biology, physics, chemistry, computer science, chemical and biological engineering, and potentially others.

The institute's mandate includes innovation in teaching, specifically the teaching of biology integrated fully with the more quantitative sciences, mathematics, and computation. Education is carried out formally through the undergraduate certificate and graduate program in Quantitative and Computational Biology (QCB).

In sum, the Lewis-Sigler Institute is a hub of intellectual activity for quantitatively oriented biologists at every level: undergraduate, graduate, and faculty.


  • Director

    • Coleen T. Murphy
  • Executive Committee

    • Brittany Adamson, Molecular Biology
    • Joshua Akey, Integrative Genomics
    • Julien F. Ayroles, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • William Bialek, Physics
    • Michelle M. Chan, Molecular Biology
    • Thomas Gregor, Physics
    • Sarah D. Kocher, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • Michael S. Levine, Molecular Biology
    • Coleen T. Murphy, Molecular Biology
    • Yuri Pritykin, Computer Science
    • Joshua D. Rabinowitz, Chemistry
    • Joshua W. Shaevitz, Physics
    • Stanislav Y. Shvartsman, Chemical and Biological Eng
    • Mona Singh, Computer Science
    • John D. Storey, Integrative Genomics
    • Olga G. Troyanskaya, Computer Science
    • Ned S. Wingreen, Molecular Biology
    • Martin Helmut Wühr, Molecular Biology
  • Professor

    • Joshua Akey
    • William Bialek
    • Thomas Gregor
    • Michael S. Levine
    • Coleen T. Murphy
    • Joshua D. Rabinowitz
    • Joshua W. Shaevitz
    • Stanislav Y. Shvartsman
    • Mona Singh
    • John D. Storey
    • Olga G. Troyanskaya
    • Ned S. Wingreen
  • Associate Professor

    • Martin Helmut Wühr
  • Assistant Professor

    • Brittany Adamson
    • Julien F. Ayroles
    • Michelle M. Chan
    • Sarah D. Kocher
    • Yuri Pritykin
    • Michael A. Skinnider
  • Associated Faculty

    • Clifford P. Brangwynne, Chemical and Biological Eng
    • Curtis G. Callan, Physics
    • Ileana M. Cristea, Molecular Biology
    • Zemer Gitai, Molecular Biology
    • Martin C. Jonikas, Molecular Biology
    • Andrew M. Leifer, Physics
    • Tom Muir, Chemistry
    • Celeste M. Nelson, Chemical and Biological Eng
    • Eszter Posfai, Molecular Biology
    • Mary C. Stoddard, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • Howard A. Stone, Mechanical & Aerospace Eng
    • Corina E. Tarnita, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
    • Jared E. Toettcher, Molecular Biology
  • Lecturer

    • Jennifer Claire Gadd-Reum
    • Claire D. McWhite
    • Nicholas Treen
    • Ben Xinzi Zhang

For a full list of faculty members and fellows please visit the department or program website.